Splash! – Contemporary Cowboy"

Seattle chamber group Splash! (Roger Nelson, piano; Janna Wächter, voice; special guest soprano Anneliese von Goerken) present an evening of traditional cowboy songs, Morton Feldman and Jarrad Powell piano works, Ivan Sokolov and Charles Ives songs, Aaron Copland Emily Dickinson poems, Libby Larsen Calamity Jane songs and the premiere of Janna Wächter’s Contemporary Cowboy. The combination of the a capella cowboy songs dating back to 1865 and Morton Feldman’s piano music creates an atmosphere similar to the immense prairie. Wächter has woven contemporary sounds with her own original “cowboy music”.