Earshot: Kaufmann/Gratkowski/de Joode

Presented by Earshot Jazz Festival & Polestar.

The astounding trio of Achim Kaufmann (piano), Frank Gratkowski (alto saxophone & clarinets), and Wilbert de Joode (bass) incorporates aspects of contemporary classical music, free improvisation, and the jazz tradition with enormous sympathy, dexterity, and power. The ensemble can create sparse, tense music from the bristling details of quiet interaction, while later firing through heated group improvisations as fast as the ear can follow.